News:

Welcome to the largest gathering of Arima boat owners anywhere. We are a forum based gathering of Arima Boat enthusiasts that like to pleasure cruise, fish, camp, and hunt. While Arimas are centered in the PNW, we have members across the globe. It is 3/4's water after all. Lurk, join up, and post about your Arima upgrades, family trips, and of course, your fishing exploits. Just remember to add photos whenever possible.

Main Menu

I just can't leave well enough alone...

Started by ak-angler, May 31, 2012, 10:17:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ak-angler

I've been running a Garmin 178c chartplotter/sounder for the last 6+ years. It's been reliable, and has done everything I've expected it to in that time. But, for the last year or more, I haven't been able to transfer any data between it and my computer. Because, in their ultimate wisdom, Garmin has yet to (and probably never will) update the drivers for their proprietary data card reader so it will work with 64-bit versions of Windows 7. And since I don't have any more WIN-XP machines that I can run their software on, I'm stuck. No route planning with new waypoints... no saving tracks by area and loading them on the unit as needed... no downloading trip info and emailing it to friends... no more anything that involves transferring data either to, or from, the Garmin. And, since my track log is full, I can't even save any more tracks without deleting other ones.  Shame on you Garmin... Shame on you. :berry:

So, I decided enough is enough, and I started looking at new units to replace my trusty and fully functional, but obsolescent, 178c. And of course, I found one. (Why does my wife insist on leaving me alone with a credit card? :shrug9:).