Author Topic: bilge Pump Wiring Question  (Read 441 times)

Offline BruceL2_Fish

bilge Pump Wiring Question
« on: November 01, 2017, 04:24:45 PM »
Ok, I am no expert on wiring and you guys that know what you are doing have helped me before so, before I assume I know the right way I thought I would seek the wisdom of our group.
I am in the process of adding a second bilge pump.   It is a Rule LoPro 900 gph with the auto function.   It has 3 wires, ground, auto and manual.  my boat also has a second bilge switch at the helm but no second pump in the bilge.   I have checked and my tank is out.

So my question is do I assume the switch is already wired and I need to look for the wires?   Should I forget about that switch as it most likely is not wired with marine grade wire anyway and add a switch in the back?

I would assume I could always run all new wire up to the existing switch.  Would I make two wire runs?   One for the manual function and that would be ran to the fuse panel the switch and then back to the pump and one direct to the battery with inline fuse to the auto side of switch and then back to pump.   the ground runs direct to negative buss.  Is this the best way?   
2012 Sea Ranger 19 (M. LaDeane)
Suzuki 115 Four Stroke
Honda 9.9 Kicker

Offline Threeweight

Re: bilge Pump Wiring Question
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2017, 04:55:32 PM »
Best way... ground to a ground bus bar at the stern some where, two positives to a 3 way switch at the helm (on/off/auto).  Stern if you prefer that, but switch will be out in the weather and won't last as long, and easier to bump.

I like the "off" option just in case you have some need to disable the pump (short, fuel spill, etc...)
Former Sea Chaser 17 owner
Wild Card, Hewescraft Ocean Pro 220, Honda 225 and 9.9

“Never turn your back on fear. It should always be in front of you, like a thing that might have to be killed.”
       --- Hunter S. Thompson

Offline DevMah

« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2017, 06:42:19 PM »