Author Topic: 89 sprinter fold down canvas  (Read 324 times)

Offline Ofishall

89 sprinter fold down canvas
« on: August 14, 2017, 10:41:19 PM »
Hello all, I'm new to Arima ownership and the site. Just bought an 89 sprinter in part because it fits in my undersized garage nicely. Problem is the canopy (which is fairly new) does not fold down over the front of the windshield as I have seen with other Arimas (making storage challanging). Rather, the top is either on or I have to take the screws out and remove it. This is inconvenient and likely not sustainable in the long run for the hardware. So two questions: 1) are all arima tops interchangeable for 15 foot models (i.e. would  a hunter's fold down top fit on the sprinter? 2) does anyone have an old set of The metal frame for the top they don't need  anymore, or know where I can buy one cheap?

Offline Ofishall

Re: 89 sprinter fold down canvas
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2017, 11:59:52 PM »
Hey all, I'm posting an update here to let you know what I found so anyone who might run into the same has someplace to start. I spoke with Belinda at Defiance. She told me they don't make tops for their 15 foot boats anymore (Sprinters or Hunters). She said they could customs make one for around $1550. She recommend calling Cindy at Cindy at 253-564-7560 who runs an upholstery shop at Narrows Marina in Tacoma. She said she used to make all the tops for Arima. Long story short, Cindy was great, knew everything there was to know about the boat top, but basically said she couldn't work with mine because someone put an aftermarket on. She recommended I keep it until I needed a new one in a few years and then she could build a whole new one (frame and all) for around $1100. In the meantime she set me up with some suggestions and hardware to make my existing top more functional.  Not exactly the path I was hoping to walk, but it will work for now.

Offline Salmon King

• Fisherman
  • Fly your flag proudly and thank a veteran!