Author Topic: another newbie question regarding radar  (Read 291 times)

Offline Dhil12

another newbie question regarding radar
« on: June 19, 2017, 02:50:59 PM »
we have a new Sea Legend on order and I ordered it with the rocket launcher with a radar pad. We plan on getting the 24 inch Garmin.I see some mount the radar up in the front of the hardtop. Is there any advantages to that or will the rocket launcher pad work as well? Sorry, but I am a newbie. I appreciate your help and experience.
Darrell
2018 Sea Legend ht with bulkhead
2018 Yamaha 200
9.9 yamaha kicker

Offline Threeweight

Re: another newbie question regarding radar
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2017, 03:19:38 PM »
You want to make sure the beam from the radar has a clear shot at the ocean in front of you when you are up on plane, rather than hitting the front edge of the hardtop.  This photo may help explain things:

If your rocket launchers get it up high enough for this, it is fine mounting it at the back.  You may need to fine tune the angle of the dome once you get it installed... you want it to sit fairly level with the boat on plane (which typically elevates the nose quite a bit vs. off plane).  Some stacked plastic spacers on the rear mounting bolts work fine for this, or you can cut some custom starboard shims, or you can buy pre-made solutions online. 

You do want to make sure the dome is up high enough that it is above head height of anyone walking around on the back deck when you are operating it.  Microwaves do strange things to human eyeballs.

Former Sea Chaser 17 owner
Wild Card, Hewescraft Ocean Pro 220, Honda 225 and 9.9

“Never turn your back on fear. It should always be in front of you, like a thing that might have to be killed.”
       --- Hunter S. Thompson

Offline Dhil12

« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2017, 04:09:39 PM »