Author Topic: Another VHF antenna question  (Read 786 times)

Offline HemiGTX

Another VHF antenna question
« on: April 22, 2017, 07:18:17 PM »
I'm interested in replacing my current 8' antenna with a new one.  I seem to always fish in sloppy weather and have been thinking about using a 4' Digital brand antenna (4db) on a 4' extension, and installing the whole shebang on top of my hardtop.  My thinking is that the 4db antenna would give better performance while the boat is pitching and yawing, and raising it 4' would mitigate some of the (potential) loss of range.

The other option is to just buy an 8' 6db antenna and not worry about any potential loss of effectiveness in the slop.

Thoughts?

« Last Edit: April 22, 2017, 07:31:47 PM by HemiGTX »
AKA: "The guy who fishes with Nicole"

Offline wedocq

Re: Another VHF antenna question
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2017, 08:30:38 AM »
I am no expert, just going on experience. I used the Shakespeare 5225 XT for 10+ years before buying a new radio and antenna. The new antenna was a Digital 529. I can honestly say I liked the performance of the 5225XT better. When the Digital got broken in the snow storm, I replaced it with another 5225XT. It's on sale for $99 at Hodges Marine right now.  Another reason I like this antenna is their claim of durability.
From the MFG:
Embodying Shakespeare's extreme durability standards, the Galaxy 5225/5226-XT is built extra-tough with a stronger, stiffer radome. The extra resistant construction of this VHF antenna undergoes stringent in-house testing to withstand mother nature's tests when placed on hardtops, T-tops, radar arches, or anywhere exposed to high winds and high speeds. The high performance and durability of this antenna maximizes range all while keeping its pristine finish.

As far as buying a 4'er and adding an extension. I dunno.  :shrug9: In all my years on the water, I have never had a fishing buddy with an antenna set up that way, so I can't speak on the performance. :shrug9: