News:

Welcome to the largest gathering of ARIMA boat owners anywhere. We are a forum based gathering of Arima Boat enthusiasts that like to pleasure cruise, fish, camp, and hunt. While Arimas are centered in the PNW, we have members across the globe. It is 3/4's water after all. Lurk, join up, and post about your Arima upgrades, family trips, and of course, your fishing exploits. Just remember to add photos whenever possible.

Main Menu

Best mounting for new electronics

Started by acercher, March 22, 2016, 11:40:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

acercher

Hi folks--Total newbie here.  Recently bought a new 17' Sea Chaser and took a few months off to recover from wallet shock.  Just picked up this weekend at the West Marine sale the necessary electronics:  Garmin 7" echomap 74dv; VHF 585 fixed mount; and 8' Shakespeare antenna.  My questions for the experts: 

Where's the best place to mount the antenna if I don't have a hard top?

What's the best way to mount the electronics, given that I'll probably be mooring the boat at a marina without a cover for 6 months a year?  My thought was that I'd probably want to remove at least the gps while docked, so some sort of gimbal arrangement would make that easiest (and might also help in terms of visibility).  On the other hand, if the gps is flush mounted it would look cleaner, and maybe there's not much risk of theft?

Any input you have would be much appreciated.

Thanks--Acercher

Diablo

Congrats on the new boat.
I would mount the antenna on the side of the cabin with a adjustable mount. My first boat was that way. The PO of the boat I have now mounted it on the walk around deck, its kind of in the way there. It's nice to be able to fold it down along the gunnels aft when trailering.

For mounting electronics, I have been using RAM mounts and am happy with them. They are very adjustable for glare, and viewing angle. Should you get a new unit in the future you can use the same mount.