News:

Welcome to the largest gathering of Arima boat owners anywhere. We are a forum based gathering of Arima Boat enthusiasts that like to pleasure cruise, fish, camp, and hunt. While Arimas are centered in the PNW, we have members across the globe. It is 3/4's water after all. Lurk, join up, and post about your Arima upgrades, family trips, and of course, your fishing exploits. Just remember to add photos whenever possible.

Main Menu

Should have listened to Gary.

Started by croaker stroker, October 07, 2017, 12:00:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

croaker stroker

I have been pondering these Spray Rails for a couple of years. Every time I posted questions about them Gary (Canvas Guy) would say GET THEM ! My wife would say Why don't you get them ? I think it was the way they looked and the fact that they were just held on with tape. But I kept procrastinating, each trip coming home soaking wet.

So, when I finally decided to get them, the company went out of business!!  I searched and researched for an alternate plan and found that the actual extruder that made the spray Rails was still in business, Barbour Plastics. While looking through their catalogue, I discovered several types of extrusions made specifically for spray rails on boats such as East Coast Lobster boats.

I ended up installing some solid PVC rails from their catalogue. Now that I have some miles using these, I can honestly say....Gary was right. They are awesome.

I am not sure of the need in other parts of the world, but here in Southern California they are a necessity. When we go south to fish, a WNW wind comes up at exactly 2:00 in the afternoon and the chop and wind waves come up the Port bow of the boat, then the wind blows it right in your face.

The new spray rails eliminate 99% of this happening.

We came back DRY yesterday afternoon in white capping 2-3 foot chop which we would normally be soaked.